Settlement.org logo

Register
Lost password

HomeSponsoring Family

Sponsorship of parents, children, spouses (common-law, conjugal, same sex), refugees.

Permanent Resident - Child born overseas 

Amjad Bashir
Amjad Bashir

Posted On: 5/2/2003
Amjad Bashir
Amjad Bashir
I am a permenant resident of Canada, but presently living in Middle East.

What is the procedure for sponsoring my new born child?

Where should I contact for the visa/entry permit?
link
shilpa
shilpa

Posted On: 10/7/2014
shilpa
shilpa
Hii...Thank you for detailed procedure. Could you be kind so send me any kind of letter formats hat you prepared & the link to the application forms

My 5 months old daughter just got a Visitor Visa (V1 category) to Canada. It took only 3 days to process. I'm writing down the details of the application and documents we submitted. Both Parents are PR holders and Baby was born in India. Application was submitted in Delhi through VFS. Father lives in Canada and Mother is in India with the baby.

1. Documents attached (Xerox)
• Passport, PR Card, - both parents
• Dr. License (for address proof)
• Employment – Employment Agreement/Contract, Paystubs or cheque (Last 2)
• Finance – Bank Statements (last 3 months)
• Tax – T4 and Notice of Assessments –of the employed parent/s

2. Application Forms filled and Submitted
• Visitor Visa application form: I entered 1 year for the duration of stay under the Details of Visit section along with the reason as ‘Joining Parents’. Entered ‘NA’ for Employment details.
• Family Information form: Details of the applicant (Baby) + Details of both parents.
• VFS Consent form (Only if done through VFS)

3. Letters attached
• Invitation Letter: A formal letter inviting the baby to travel and live with me. Specified where we will live and how to support financially.